The Board

CEC is committed to corporate governance principles of openness, integrity and accountability and has adopted the Lusaka Stock Exchange (LuSE) Code of Corporate Governance for listed and quoted companies.

The Board has a non executive Chairman and a non-executive Deputy Chairman in accordance with the Company’s Articles of Association and the LuSE Code of Corporate Governance. The CEC board of Directors meets four times during the year, although provisions exist for additional board meetings to be held at short notice if the need arises.

Hanson Sindowe

Non-Executive Chairman
Nationality: Zambian

Qualifications: Bachelor’s Degree, Electrical Engineering (University of Zambia), Senior Management Certificates (Penn State University; Ashridge College of Management)

Experience: Hanson is the co-founder and Managing Director of the Zambian Energy Corporation (ZamEn). He has over 30 years’ experience in the mining industry and has been a Director at the Company since 2006. He has a wide range of experience at senior management level, having previously been General Manager of Zambia Consolidated Copper Mines Limited (ZCCM) Power Division and Managing Director of Zambia Railways. He serves as Chairperson of the Nominations Committee and as a director on the boards of various entities including:

  • Batoka Energy Holding Limited
  • Zambian Energy Corporation (Ireland) Limited
  • Zambian Energy Corporation Limited
  • CEC Liquid Telecommunication Limited
  • CEC-Kabompo Hydro Power Limited

Munakupya Hantuba

Reynolds Bowa

Abel Mkandawire

Michael J. Tarney

Dr Sixtus Mulenga

Joe M. Chisanga

Ronald Tamale

Rtd. Brigadier-General Emelda Chola

Mildred Kaunda

Taimoor Labib

Silavwe Owen

Your board’s role is to set out a strategy to achieve long-term sustainability and good corporate governance ensures that behaviour is ethical, legal and transparent